From success to failure

…and, here I come from the heels of a happy, joyful PR filled post, to  much sadder one.  Guys, today I couldn’t do something. not only could I not do it, but it is something I SHOULD be able to do, no questions asked.

 

Well, I can’t.

 

The Bar muscle up. But not just the Bar Muscle up, a BANDED bar muscle up. I can’t do it! Despite being able to do 10 strict pull ups, link 8-10 chest to bar, link over 20 regular kipping pull ups-O couldn’t even do the bar muscle up WITH A BAND.  And I tried. I tried at the gym, then went to the park and tried again. I have bruises on my sternum, on my stomach, and arms. Still, no go.  I feel a little defeated, disappointed in myself, worried other people will think less of me…all things that Crossfit is NOT.

but

I will get it. There is no doubt in my mind I will get the Bar muscle up. I’m not sure if that is false confidence, cockiness, or just determination that I won’t let i defeat me but I WILL get that BMU.  

Just, how do I approach? I’m thinking of doing Carl Paoli’s progressions. Starting with just pulling as high as I can, until I can consistently get hip to bar pull ups. Then work on pulling over-I notice with the bands its harder for me to get that pull because my feet stay in front of me.  I also need tow kr on my false grip and holding on TIGHTER with the bar. the few times I got really close, my hands would slip.  But, I’m thinking that. I’ve never kipped well with bands, and they change the angle so much for me that I end up losing it. The most i’d ever kipped for pull ups on a band was 3-4, then when I got off the band I did 5 easily.    

Anyways. Also frustrating today because I over scaled a workout. it called for 95#, and instead of doing 85# or RX, I did 75#, finished to fast and knew I easily could have gone up 10# and sacrificed a minute, or even gone RX. there was Shoulder to over head with the weight, and afterwards one of the guys said “did you enjoy basically pressing that weight 20 reps? why did you go so light?”

I don’t know. I think the BMU got in my head, I think I’m tired and sore and PMSing…but thats life. Thats part of Crossfit. I think a rest coming up will be good for me.

tomorrow i’m doing the all women’s class since my hubby is out of town  and they have baby sitting, and i might come back on Friday to redo the WOD yesterday (it was a rowing interval workout, but we didn’t do it right so my score is off so i want to re do since it’s test week) and work on some BMU. 

Oh! and the gymnastics place next to us is offering adult classes on wednesday night-i think I am going to check it out! Hopefully it helps with the muscle ups, the kip in general, and hannndd stannddss 🙂

Have a good one everyone!

One thought on “From success to failure

Leave a Reply

