Week in review

Hello Blogsphere

I had another pain in my shoulder, which gives me the sads at Crossfit. So, I get grumpy and not want talk about it. I just..pout. Pout pout.  Plus, I was at the office 3 days last week, and the other two were spent making it up to one sad little girl who misses her mommy.  I know she’s fine and I know it’s not a big deal, but I definitely feel guilty that I’ve been putting in an inordinate time at work lately. I have to go in this weekend too, and 3 more days this week (Wed-Friday), and maybe a couple more days the following week to wrap up a big project.  I think part of my guilt is I actually enjoy being at the office and getting work done, and feeling like I’m contributing to something.  Then I start to wonder if I SHOULD take the next job they offer me (they’ve made it pretty clear I’m free to grab whatever job comes available. I already turned down a pretty good paying one they offered me, but they are growing and jobs are opening up constantly), but I go home and my daughter is so happy to see me….I just can’t do it.

Anyways. Onto Crossfit!

Monday

Strength/Skill

Push press, 5×5

I got up to 100# for the push press. Ran out of time, but I definitely think I could have gotten 105# for 5 reps-only 5# less than my 1RM

WOD

15-12-9

Cleans @ 95#

Chest to Bar pull ups

Time: 8:27, RX. Best Chest to bar pull ups yet! Got sets of 7-5 each round to start.  I’m getting gloves soon so I can practice after class and not worry about ripping my hands so much…I think the trick to the bar work for me is how my hands feel. But i need to get on that bar more!

Squat Cycle

10×3 @ 130#

These felt pretty good

Tuesday:

Every 2 minutes for 10 minutes

5 strict press

then

10 push ups

Started with 70#, then dropped to 65#. Shoulder was hurting like hell from 14.5, then 13.4 the next day, then clean and jerks saturday, then Push press the day before.  

FGB Style- 3 rounds, 1 minute each station

Row

rest

burpee

rest

ttb

rest

score: 187. Toes to bar were AWFUL today, could not kip to save my life.   

Post WOD

snatch pull, 5×3 @ 100%

Just to do something. I had snatches planned but just need to rest the shoulder for the week on extra stuff…fucking again.

Wednesday:

3 mile run

Back squat, 6×1 @ 165#

3 second pause Back squat, 5×2 @ 140#

3 rounds, NFT

50 double unders

10 overhead squats with kettlebell

20 weighted sit ups

Did all this at home, didn’t go to the gym since it was snatches that day

Thursday

Prowler push, 3×50 m

did 95-115-115#. could have done more

4×400 m sprints

1:23, 1:28, 1:30, 1:31

Felt slow as molasses

Hang snatch, 5×1 Below the knee

snatch pull, 3×5 @ 85#

went light on the hang snatch, I really hate that drill below the knee

Friday

4 RFT 

20 cal row

10 thrusters @ 95#

rest 3:00 between rounds

I don’t remember my time, but I just did 5 Thrusters @ 95#.  I had the strength to do all 10 but again..shoulder going over head. however every time these come up i’ve had to modify, so the coach and I agreed that I really need to DO the heavier weight. It’s not weight that bothers it so much as high repetition so going less reps/heavier weight worked

3 position power clean until failure

got to 115#

from that weight, 2 position  power clean (hang/floor) until failure

got to 125#

Ran out of time, was going to go to singles.  Tried 135# really quick but just didn’t have it in me.

Saturday

2 rounds

30 second L sit

45 hollow rocks

15 strict knees to elbows

15 (per side) KB windmills

we call those “stagecoach abs”

3 position power clean

75# x 2

80 x 2

Power clean + 2 cleans

80# x 2

85# x 2

clean pulls

115X5X3

front squat

90X6X2

100X5

105X5

Modified from the Oly program i’m starting monday, with all overhead stuff removed.

3 mile run

Gottat jet-I hear a cute little girl upstairs!

One thought on “Week in review

Leave a Reply

