14.2

AKA two my least favorite movements. I’m not strong on power snatches, but I can do them. My OHS are a huge weakness as are my Chest to Bar.  BUT, that’s one of the fun things about Crossfit, right?? You get to expose your goats, then write a game plan to attack them. One of my coaches is helping me with a muscle up progression plan, and he said he’s writing a lot of C2B volume in there to help me out.

 

So..my score. 77,  which was my goal going in there.  i wanted to at least get into the second set of pull ups in the round of 12, which I got (one!).   I split the C2B in sets of 5-5, then 5-3-2, then 5-3-2-1-1, then 1.  OHS were 10-10-8-4 (rested on neck) then 6-3-3.  Obviously need to work on shoulder stability more, and C2B but there it is!    Part of my issue was i wasn’t nearly warmed up enough (we weren’t “organized” so by the time I started the workout i was already cooled down) and that, again, these are two weak movements for me that I really haven’t given the attention too.

 

I will say this. Putting your time and attention to movements you perceive as weaknesses do work.  Prior to 14.1 I put ALOT of time and effort into my Oly lifts-alot. I think this paid off in my score (which wasn’t stellar, but was far better than I thought I’d get) because my confidence in my snatches and quickness under the bar meant that even thug hI broke them up, the sets I would do were fast and quick.  I never do chest to bar or spend time in that over head position for squatting, and that showed today.

So, my new goal is to do chest to bar when pull ups show up in our workouts, and then 2-3x a week doing sets of 5×5 of C2B, until this movement is comfortable.  I’m also going to be doing some OHS work during my Oly lifts, and just get comfortable in that position!

 

Post your scores in the comments!

5 thoughts on “14.2

  1. Corrie Anne

    Nice work! Getting into that second round just didn’t quite happen for me. I scored 33 with a lot of fun no reps at the end. I was going to say good luck, but I see that you’re done!! That’s a great score. My hands hurt today which feels so lame after only three minutes of work!! Haha. I guess I need to keep working on my c2b’s too. It just wasn’t even on my radar until I signed up for the Open! Always something new to work on!!

    Reply
  2. Jennifer

    I pretty much officially scored a 0. Does that even count? Haha! 65# is too much weight for me in an overhead squat. But I tried and it isn’t going to be too much forever. 🙂 Nice job with your 77! Pretty badass in my book. #girlpower

    Reply
  3. xine23

    Due to my heel injury I was unable to do this WOD and thus am out of the competition week 2. BUT I plan on doing the rest, if possible, just not being judged.

    Reply
  4. zimzimmie1

    Nice job even though you didn’t feel this was a great wod! I got 72 reps. I had hoped to get into the second set of c2bs too but it just didn’t happen. Oh well 🙂 I’m good with my score/effort

    Reply

Leave a Reply

