Training 1.21.14 and Food Log

Pre WOD/Strength

Every 3minutes for 12 minutes

10 Deadlift (pick load. I picked 135#-conservative for Comp)

rest :60 sec

10 Burpees

WOD

30-20-10-*bar set at 65/95

Push Press

Front Rack Lunges

Time-6:14, RX. Stupid of me to do this. my shoulder did not feel good. I need to focusing on really getting that core tight during push presses (and..everything) because i tend to hyper extend when tired.

Post WOD/EXtra activity

Some pull ups right after to work on them when I’m tired

Chest to bar pull ups and Handstand hold progressions at park 

Walk after dinner with husband

 

Food Log

Breakfast Lunch Dinner Snacks/Supplements
2 Egg whites 4 oz Pork 4 oz Pork 1 Post WOD Recovery shake
2 eggs 2 cups cauliflower 2 cups cauliflower 1 Lara Bar
1/2 banana 1/2 cup broccoli 1/2 cup broccoli 3 Piece (100 cal) Dark Chocolate
1 serving almond butter 1 small sweet potato (75 grams) 1.5 TBSP oil based dressing 1/2 Banana
1 Cup Coffee 1 TBSP Oil based dressing 1 TSP Coconut oil 1 1/2 TBSP Almond Butter
1 Serving dairy creamer 1 TSP Butter   1 Pre Dunk Protein shake
  Cinnamon    
  1 TSP coconut oil  

 

 

Dunk tank results

So part of this Performance challenge I’m doing is to measure our lean body mass. Ofcourse, the way to do this is to figure out our body fat percentage, and how much LBM we have. So…we get hydrostatically weighed/tested to find out our numbers. I figured i’d be slightly lower then last time, due to more muscle definition and less weight. Well..the numbers weren’t what I expected.  Here is the progression

5/13/2013 (2 months post partum)-Weight-132. Body Fat-16.3%.  Lean Mass-110.5 lbs

6/13/2013 (3cmonths post partum; one month of harder programming and eating fairly Paleo)-Weight-132. Body Fat-14.7%.  Lean Mass-112.6 lbs

1/21/2014 (almost 11 months post partum-increase in caloric intake, 80% Paleo, increase in weight training)-Weight-118. Body Fat-11.6%.  Lean Mass-104.4 lbs.

I just..dont know. It’s so weird for me to see those numbers and not really understand them. That’s a low body fat percentage, and i’m sad i’ve lost so much lean mass. How? I’m not sure.  maybe I’m not eating as much as I think I am. I have been looking at what other Crossfit athletes eat, and trying to style my eating around that.  I cut back on extra running/walking (i used to run for fun a few times a week-now I only run during WODS). I’ve increased my extra Oly work, but it isn’t heavy. on days I squat/do extra real strength training, I take in an extra 300 calories between protein shake and snacks.  I’m hoping to see that lean mass go up and I would even be ok with that Fat percentage going up-I felt GREAT at 14-15%. That’s healthy, athlete level of fat.  I’m not sure if I’m just naturally lean, if this is something caused by having a baby, or if something else is going on. Or if i’m training harder than I realize.  I guess my goal is to eat as much as I can of CLEAN calories, and hope to see some sort of increase in strength.

 

i know, i know..”what a problem to have”. It’s just so odd to see that drop and almost scary to see the weight drop. I went to the doctors…last month? and I was 125.  7 pounds in a month?? I have a feeling the scale at the doctors or dunk tank was wrong. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

