Training 1.15.14

Strength

Every 3 minutes for 12 minutes

Deadlift, 5 reps, pick load (175#)

rest :30

10 HSPU (RX, kipping)

I could have gone maybe 185#, but there was a high amount of KBS in the WOD so I decided to save my back. These felt pretty good though.  

WOD

40 Kettlebell swings (1.5/1 pood) (RX)

20 Burpees (RX)

Run 800 M (RX)

30 KBS

15 Burpees

Run 600 M

20 KBS

10 Burpees

Run 400 m

Time: 14:54, RX. I don’t really like these WODS, mainly because I’d rather be working on something that I need to work on, than just doing cardio basically. Plus, this is just a matter of grinding though-I did all reps unbroken, and tried to do KBS as fast as possible(doing as much of the “double snatch” method as possible).  I ran the first 400 m of the first 2 rounds at a moderate pace then picked it up for the last 400/200 m. 

Oly lifting

5×1 Hang cleans(below the knee) +1 Jerk (95#) 

3 Rounds

1a) 5 Jerk balances (65#) (demo and explanation here from Breaking muscle)

1b) 5 Jerk dips (135#) (Demo video here)

Hang cleans below the knee are so awkward.  Got one that felt really smooth,but still awkward. Dips suck but they are good-I got a couple that I could tell I landed the form/was tight because I got it to my nose with the dip drive only.  I love the balances; they really help with foot placement.

Tomorrow is more Bar Muscle up practice-depending on workout at the gym I might just do some squats at home and the muscle up practice and not go in-an “Active recovery” day, so to speak. 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

